BREAKING

6/recent/ticker-posts

Advertisement

Advertisement

‘IS IT YOU IN THE VIDEO?’ New Facebook messenger scam

Sophos a cyber security firm has issued a warning for Facebook users, the researchers at the firm say that cyber criminals are sending a video link from the user’s account, which will ask friends to enter their Facebook details (username and password), the video link Is called “is it you in the video? Or did you make this video?

‘IS IT YOU IN THE VIDEO?’ New Facebook messenger scam

If a user clicks in the link and enters their details in the link, they stand to lose access to the Facebook account.

This scam has been circulating for years seems to making a comeback, if you click in the link, it will take you to a fake Facebook login page with a message about confirming your information before you can access the video. It is pretty obvious the page is fake if you notice the URL (uniform resource locator) at the top but it is more likely for most people to not notice this and fall for the trap.

HOW TO KNOW THE LINK IS FAKE?

Facebook was an early adopter of HHTPS (hypertext transfer protocol secure) for everything, so page claiming to represent Facebook but doesn’t have HTTPS is fake


WHAT TO DO IF YOU GET A ONE?

If you get one of these video links from a friend is not to click it and notify your friend through calls or mails, it is possible the video was sent from a friend’s cloned Facebook account that a scammer used to friend you in the past.

If you made the mistake of entering your data on that fake login page, you should immediately change your Facebook password before the scammers have a chance to get in. it is consider setting up two factor authentication for Facebook so you won’t lose access to your account. In Two factor authentication Facebook will asked to enter a security code which only you can enter.

If the scammers have already taken control of your account, you will need to go through Facebook's account recovery process to regain access. For more insight on what is happening, go to your Facebook setting> security and login to see where and when you have been logged into your Facebook.


Deborika Bhattacharjee,
Content Writer,
BONGAIGAON TIMES

Post a Comment

0 Comments